YUMA PACIFIC - SOUTHWEST SECTION

January 23, 2019
Business Meeting
YPSW Section, AIHA
Commodore Room, Bay Club Hotel and Marina
San Diego, California
4 P.M.

MINUTES

President Frank Renshaw called the business meeting to order at 4:00 PM PST on January23, 2018 at The Bay Club Hotel and Marina, 2131 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA. The agenda was distributed to those individuals present. A count of members established that a quorum (20%) was indeed present. The minutes of the 2018 business meeting were printed on the back of the agenda and, therefore, not read aloud. A motion to approve the minutes was made, seconded and unanimously carried by the membership.

President Report (Renshaw)

Introduced the 2018 Executive Committee (EC) members and reviewed 2018 activities:

- Five EC teleconference meetings held.
- All AIHA reporting requirements and documents submitted on time.
- Donated \$1,700 on behalf of YPSW to AIHA Stephen C. Davis Leadership Institute Memorial Grant fund.
- Donated \$1,700 on behalf of YPSW to the University of Wyoming Douglas Davis Memorial fund
- Published "Wisdom Gift" article to AIHA Synergist.
- Submitted Krebs Tribute article to AIHA Synergist
- Website updated by Frank Hearl.
- YPSW Member Recognition:
 - a. Eula Bingham received George and Florence Clayton Award Jan 2018
 - b. Charles Blake received AIHA Fellow Designation
 - c. Donna Daggett AIHA Fellow nomination submitted
- 2018 new members: Shelley Carry, Samantha Chua, Jonathan Gast, Laura Parker, Allyson Long, and David Roskelley.
- Provided memorial gifts for Linda Wheeler, William H. Krebs, and Christopher Lieckfield

Secretary-Treasurer's Report (Davis)

- Good news we changed banks closing Bank of America and opening account at Chase Bank. Also, Bob Lieckfield is now an authorized signer on our bank accounts.
- \$14,023.74 in savings, \$13,885.73 in checking (total \$27,909.47). The balance will increase somewhat a few several attendees will pay at the door. Note that on site registrations are welcome but advance registrations make the process work smoother for us and the hotel planning meeting room configuration, number of meals, etc.
- Negotiated contract with hotel for meeting room, hospitality suite, meals, etc.
- Meeting expenses (hotel, food, hospitality suite, tour and bus fees, reproduction costs, postage, etc.,)
 will total about \$10,000.00 and paid after the conference.
- Negotiated and contracted with bus company for Thursday afternoon tour.
- Purchased award.
- Sympathy, get well and thinking of you cards for members unable to attend are available for all to sign.
- We have a great turnout for this meeting.

Report of Activities

- Denise Daggett, AIHA Local Section Regional Representative (LSRR), presented a roundup of 2018
 activities going on in the Pacific Region local sections (LS). Denise has now concluded her term in this
 position. See her attached presentation.
- Barbara Dawson, President-Elect and Program Chairman, gave an overview of the Thursday and Friday technical program....and the technical tour Thursday afternoon.

Page 1 of 2

- EC Nominations and election of 2019 YPSW Officers and Executive Committee:
 - President-Elect Tom Slavin
 - Secretary-Treasurer Anna Davis
 - EC member (3 year term) Fred Boelter.
 - NOTE: Per YPSW Bylaws, Barbara Dawson will assume position of President; Frank Renshaw position of Past President; Denise Daggett will be serving year 3 of 3, and frank Hearl will be serving year 2 of 3 of their respective Executive Committee Director Positions.

No additional nominations from the floor. Motion to approve slate of officers – seconded.

Presenting your 2019 Officers and Executive Committee:

President Barbara Dawson
President Elect Tom Slavin
Past President Frank Renshaw
Secretary-Treasurer Anna Davis
Director Denise Daggett
Director Frank Hearl
Director Fred Boelter

NOTE: Anna Davis request assistance with the growing secretary-treasurer administrative duties, Bob Lieckfeild graciously volunteered – thank you Bob.

Proposed site of 2020 meeting - Bay Club Hotel and Marina, Shelter Island, San Diego.

These minutes were predominantly composed by Bob Lieckfield – I added a few details, but credit goes to Bob for the bulk of the work....Thank you, Bob.

Motion to adjourn at 5 PM PST, seconded.

Anna V. Davis Secretary-Treasurer

Encl: Denise Daggett's Report "AIHA LSSR Pacific Region Round-up"