2020 YPSW AIHA Annual Business Meeting January 22, 2020 Commodore Room, Bay Club Hotel and Marina San Diego, California

President Barbara Dawson called the meeting to order at 4 PM PST at The Bay Club Hotel and Marina, 2131 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA. The agenda was distributed to those individuals present. A count of members established that a quorum (20%) was present.

Minutes of 2019 Annual Business Meeting

The 2019 business meeting minutes were attached to the agenda. A motion was made and seconded to approve the minutes of the 2019 annual meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

Introduction of YPSW Executive Committee Members

President Barbara Dawson introduced the other members of the Executive Committee:

Frank Renshaw - Past President

Tom Slavin - President-Elect

Anna Davis - Secretary-Treasurer

Frank Hearl - Director (year 2 of 3) and webmaster

Fred Boelter - Director (year 1 of 3)

Denise Daggett - Director (year 3 of 3) was unable to attend the meeting.

2019 Executive Committee Activities

Barbara reported on the following activities:

<u>Executive Committee Meetings</u> – The Executive Committee held conference calls on 3/15/19, 9/13/19, 10/17/19 and 1/7/20. Additionally, there was some email correspondence between calls.

<u>AIHA Reporting Requirements</u> – All of the requested information was submitted to AIHA including the list of officers.

<u>Donations to Scholarship Funds</u> – At the 2019 meeting, we raised \$7460 with \$3250 going to the Stephen C. Davis Memorial Future Leaders Leadership Institute Memorial Grant, \$2450 going to the University of Wyoming Douglas Davis Memorial Fund and the remaining \$1760 going undesignated to the AIHF.

<u>Website Updates</u> – Frank Hearl, webmaster, reported that he has posted the newsletters, photographs from the annual meetings, Clayton Award recipients, etc. He encouraged everyone to go on-line and take a look.

New Members - Barbara announced that the following people had joined the YPSW Section during 2019:

Cynthia (CJ) Backlund

Megan Canright

Shelley Carry

Ionathan Gast

Haifa Hughes

Martin Iones

Alan Leibowitz

Allyson Long

Deborah Nelson

Todd Niemeier

Iustine Parker

Laura Parker

Charles Redinger

Jerome Spear

Secretary-Treasurer's Report

Secretary-Treasurer Anna Davis reported the following balances:

Savings Account - \$16,872.23

Checking Account - \$14,025.13

She announced that we have a great turnout for the meeting with 56 people registered. She reported that she negotiated the contract with the hotel for the meeting room, hospitality suite, meals, etc. and contracted with the bus company for the Thursday afternoon tour. There are still multiple outstanding bills to pay associated with the meeting which she will pay over the next few weeks. She also purchased the Clayton and Past President awards. Anna circulated cards to be signed for the members unable to attend this year's meeting and shared notes from them.

2020 Annual Meeting Program

President-Elect and Program Chairman Tom Slavin gave a brief overview of the program for Thursday and Friday including the tour on Thursday afternoon.

2020 Nomination and Election of Officers and Directors

By YPSW Bylaws, Tom Slavin will assume the position of President, Barbara Dawson will become Past President, Frank Hearl will serve year 3 of his 3-year term, and Fred Boelter will move into year 2 of his 3-year term. Frank Renshaw and Denise Daggett will drop off of the Executive Committee. Anna Davis, Secretary-Treasurer has asked to retire from the Executive Committee. Barbara Dawson presented the following slate of officers and directors as nominated by the Executive Committee:

President-Elect - Fred Boelter

Secretary-Treasurer - Bob Lieckfield

Executive Committee (3-year term) - Bob Nocco

Barbara asked for nominations from the floor. As there were none, a motion was made and seconded to approve the slate recommended by the Executive Committee and the motion was unanimously approved.

Since Fred Boelter's remaining 2-year term as a Director was vacant as a consequence of his becoming President-Elect, the Executive Committee presented Ben Heckman as their nomination to fulfill Fred's unexpired term. Barbara asked for nominations from the floor. As there were none, a motion was made and seconded to approve the election of Ben Heckman and the motion was unanimously approved.

Barbara thanked Anna Davis for her many years of service to the section and presented her with some flowers as a token of appreciation.

Proposed Site of 2021 Meeting

Barbara requested that the group empower the Executive Committee to make a decision about the location of the 2021 meeting pending the outcome of the 2020 meeting. The Bay Club had purchased new tables to make the room more comfortable for the number of attendees. Everyone agreed to wait and see how crowded the room. The preference of the group appeared to be to stay at the Bay Club if possible.

Comments/Questions

There were no additional comments or questions from the members.

Motion to Adjourn

A motion to adjourn was made, seconded and unanimously approved. The meeting was adjourned at 4:55 PM PST.

Recorded by Barbara Dawson, YPSW President